The Earliest Background

John Paxton (1696-1746) was married to Elizabeth Alexander Paxton (1690-1756). These are my 6th Great Grandparents. Though records are very sparse, it is known they immigrated to Pennsylvania from Ulster, Ireland. My family were Scots planted as a community in Northern Ireland. Accompanying them in the immigration were several brothers and cousins of many different families including those of Paxton Name.

They remained but a short time in PA , 25 miles east of the Susquehanna River in Bart Township of then Lancaster County. When my 6th Great grandfather John passed away in 1746, Elizabeth and their sons, along with several of her brothers from the Alexander family went to then Borden Grant in what is now called Rockbridge County Virginia, where the bulk of my family settled the area. Several other Paxton family members were already in Virginia beginning about the year 1722.

My point in this short book is not to deliver myself or the reader over to a mass of genealogy but rather that which I learned and benefited from of a Spiritual nature through my heritage in the Rockbridge County Virginia area.

One of the sons of John and Elizabeth was Thomas ‘Buffalo’ Paxton (1719-1788). He was my 5th Great grandfather of whom I will be writing more in detail later on in this volume.

I have walked upon the rugged Virginia ground in Rockbridge County where they lived and worked and played. With my eyes I have gazed on the land they cleared with their bare hands and tamed with their spirit of freedom and hard work. Though I still have so much about them to learn, I have learned much as well and am eager to put it in print and also audio in sermon material. Bone of their bone, Flesh of their flesh, and one day dust of their dust, I bear their name proudly and only hope to not bore the reader with endless thoughts and details but rather give you a glimpse into the hearts and souls of these Scots-Irish Immigrants who are my people..

My people were a great many of occupations; Farmers, Plantation owners, Ministers, Lawyers, Soldiers, Trailblazers in every area of American life and thought. I cannot possibly cover all of that in such a short space nor am I prepared or qualified to do so. But I hope to convey how I believe God has all the details worked out from before the foundation of the World and knows the minutest details of our beings. Family is very important to God and He works in and through Generations. I believe that revelation and understanding of this is being released as we enter into these final days of history I believe, before the return of Jesus.

So, as I share whats in my heart I do pray it will be a blessing to you and perhaps, like me, you will have a desire to learn more about your ‘tribe’ and in so doing learn more of your purpose as I also have.. I am proud of the Family God has seen fit in His infinite Wisdom to place me into..

And I am honored to be able to say from the Scripture:

The lines are fallen unto me in pleasant places; yea, I have a goodly heritage.
For thou, O God, hast heard my vows: thou hast given me the heritage of those that fear thy name.
And it shall come to pass, after that I have plucked them out I will return, and have compassion on them, and will bring them again, every man to his heritage, and every man to his land.
Let the priests, the ministers of the Lord, weep between the porch and the altar, and let them say, Spare thy people, O Lord, and give not thine heritage to reproach, that the heathen should rule over them: wherefore should they say among the people, Where is their God?
We truly know in whom we have believed and are thrilled to continue to serve the Lord Jesus Christ in this my generation..

One thought on “The Earliest Background

  1. Pingback: The Earliest Background | Pastor Len and Friends

Leave a comment